Willing Wanderer

My friend Gioia comes to visit me once a while in SF, and when she does, it is super fun!  One time we walked from one corner of the city to the other– diagonal across the landscape.  There are “micro-climates” here and so, for a second, we were in the desert-y place and then another second we were in fog, and then the windy beach… She said, “please write a song called willing wanderer” since I’m the only one (that’s hard to believe) who will just wander with no place in mind for a whole day with her…

Willing Wanderer: Take this little planet and spin it… like a record… listen to the flaws… and I’ll get you to come over to my city… and make me love it more…Rollin’ ’round like a tumble weed… all of these weeds pulling me out… you are my willing wanderer… putting holes in the soles of my shoes… and the sound of a siren in filling me to my roots and I’m a lily… in the belly of this place. I dont’ get to have the things that make me feel at ease… I don’t fight it, but I also decided… to tumble out in the street… rolling round like a tumble weed now… all of these weeds pulling me out… you are my willing wanderer… putting holes in the soles of our shoes… and the sound of a siren is filling me… to my roots and I’m a lily… in the belly of this place.

Leave a comment