Tom Niehus–subtle magic

Dear

In December of 2017 I got a CD in the mail from Tom Niehus… it contained a bunch of songs.  Some songs were from my ancient past, some were from my not distant past, and some were Tom’s songs, and some were Tom’s good friend John Remmerede’s songs.  In short, it is a super treasure!  As it turns out, Tom added some subtle magic to a couple of my songs… I just LOVE it.  This one is “tossed” … here’s to the slowest collaboration in history!  Watch– in another year I will add some subtle magic to his songs and send them across the country to him…

Tossed: Right step before the left… shake off the dust and get… loose and out from underneath… set out for the farthest thing.  Something once pushed you low… oh it couldn’t hold you … come straight to me… like a conquered king.  Playing like you were a kid… an escapee orphan… loose and fit to take control… wearing the crown of brambles and thorns… caught by the scruff of your neck… yanked out like your mother called you… home to lick those wounds… nothing but the tossing that told you.  Nothing but the tossing that told you.

Leave a comment