Empty Room

One of my favorite things is an empty room… I had a little house in Grass Valley once with an empty room… I put furniture in it and everything felt wrong so I went back to empty… There was something about sitting on the floor looking out the window that made me want to sing songs or just think and think…. So I had the opportunity to sing in an empty room recently and I recorded these two songs…I was thinking of Patsy Cline (Night Wanderings) a little when I wrote one…and  I was thinking about when I first started dating my husband when I wrote the other (Mountaintop).  

Night Wanderings: Oh the lights are going out… all over this noisy town… the long, hot day is melted… like ice cream on the pavement.  I wanna wander where I will… be like invisible… as the ghost rolling round my head … made me roll out of my bed.  These night wanderings, I find myself doing… inclining my head to the dark.. and I’ll just listen.  I long for my release… gonna drag my feet until the street ends and grab that ghost by the collar… seeing just what he’s after. These night wanderings… that I find myself doing… the streets are slipping right out from underneath my feet.  In the middle of the night… it will come to me like a second sight … will have ground that pavement to powder… until I feel better.

Mountaintop:  High on a mountaintop… dizzy… to this place.. he’s taken me… As we sleep, I dream of rooted trees… in the desert… that must dig deep.  Down in the valley… where I am from… I was making my way… up to the sun… and the canopy was so lush and green… but I was in danger… of missing those subtle things… Floating… like the leaves leaving me… there are so many beautiful and unstable things… and the camera couldn’t hold it still.. you’re saying goodbye… as it slips… from your tight grip.

Leave a comment